Perks - Advertise - Spy - Who Quoted Me  
Go Back   AllDeaf.com > Deaf Interests > American with Disabilities Act
LIKE AllDeaf on Facebook FOLLOW AllDeaf on Twitter
Closed Thread
Unread 03-12-2007, 05:45 PM   #1
atabr5

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can someone deaf receive SS/SSI

I am deaf and it just happened in 2006. I signed up for social security disability about 5 months ago. I had to quit my job because I was having a hard time performing it...I was a preschool teacher. I wanted to make sure that I wasn't wasting my time and getting my hopes up if someone who is deaf can't get it. This is a serious question and please don't bash it! I was told a deaf person could get it but, I haven't heard anything from them in 5 months. Is this normal?
Alt Today
All Deaf

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 03-12-2007, 05:55 PM   #2
LuciaDisturbed

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am deaf and I waited about 6 months before they approved it. I got my first check within a few weeks after that.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." - Philosopher George Santayana.

Implanted left ear 10/11/06, activated 10/16/06 - Nucleus Freedom

My own CI experience, my views on CI and ASL and Deaf Culture and Society

DeviantArt
Unread 03-12-2007, 07:17 PM   #3
Animal_Lover

i'm deaf and yes i have SSI

Unread 03-12-2007, 08:35 PM   #4
shel90
Audist are not welcome

Liked 27 Times in 18 Posts
I am deaf and I recieved SSDI checks

--- Anonymous
Unread 03-12-2007, 09:47 PM   #5
Meg871

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Meg871 Send a message via MSN to Meg871 Send a message via Yahoo to Meg871
Talking

I received SSI when I was 16 years old, until I came to Detroit at age of 19 and filed for SSI benefits but found out I still have the SSI and changed my address, and later, My Parents gave me their SSDI accts since until now, I get no more SSI, bec it sucks! LOL

Right now, I am looking for pt. time job and keep my SSDI until I retire...I guess...:-\