AllDeaf.com
Perks - Advertise - Spy - Who Quoted Me  
Go Back   AllDeaf.com > Deaf Interests > Captioning & Sign Language Interpreter
LIKE AllDeaf on Facebook FOLLOW AllDeaf on Twitter
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-01-2006, 07:41 PM   #1
Swede
Registered User
 
Swede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
High Definition captioning

Has anyone have problem with close caption being displayed on high definition programs via broadcast network (ABC, NBC, CBS and FOX)?

I currently have Dish Network satellite with Los Angeles stations.

I have HDTV and with Dish Network Satellite High Definition receiver, I have three picture formats available - analog, digitial standard definition and digitial high definition. I have no problem with closed captions being displayed on analog programs and digital standard definition programs (such as ABC News, LOST, Desperate Housewife, etc..), but those same programs on digital high definition channels are not displaying closed caption.

Does FCC exempt CC requirements on high definition programing?
Swede is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
All Deaf

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on AllDeaf.com
   
Unread 05-01-2006, 07:54 PM   #2
mx757
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In Texas but travel most every weekend cause I hate Texas
Posts: 239
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to mx757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swede
Has anyone have problem with close caption being displayed on high definition programs via broadcast network (ABC, NBC, CBS and FOX)?

I currently have Dish Network satellite with Los Angeles stations.

I have HDTV and with Dish Network Satellite High Definition receiver, I have three picture formats available - analog, digitial standard definition and digitial high definition. I have no problem with closed captions being displayed on analog programs and digital standard definition programs (such as ABC News, LOST, Desperate Housewife, etc..), but those same programs on digital high definition channels are not displaying closed caption.

Does FCC exempt CC requirements on high definition programing?

we just bought a HD tv.. manual says it uses different caption on digital input you need to set it up. read your manual.
mx757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-01-2006, 11:12 PM   #3
Swede
Registered User
 
Swede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx757
we just bought a HD tv.. manual says it uses different caption on digital input you need to set it up. read your manual.
Yes, I'm aware of that. I have the digital caption enabled. I'm an engineer, so I know how to set it up. I have no problem with CC on High Definition HBO and Showtime programming on my Dish Network. It's just not being displayed on Los Angeles network broadcast High Definition programming (ABC, NBC, CBS and FOX), so that's the reason why I'm bringing this up to see if anyone has this problem.

Are you saying your local network broadcast high definition programs in your area are displaying captions?
Swede is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2006, 05:12 PM   #4
DarrenD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
FWIW...I got Cox cable, and the cc worked great on the HiDef channels until a couple of months ago. CBS has become horrible, and the others are hit and miss. It seems to get worse during prime time (especially during Ghost Whisperer and Cold Case ). HBO is unaffected, for some reason, though the captions seem truncated sometimes.

When I had Dish we did not have HD, but the captioning was unusually spotty in most channels, anyway.
DarrenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-2006, 02:25 PM   #5
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Swede,

I have a Sony 60" XBR rear projection LCD TV with built-in HDTV tuner for Over-The-Air (OTA) signals. I live in Reno, NV and I know it's not the same as Los Angeles. I use indoor antenna and I receive six HDTV signals (CBS, NBC, PBS, ABC, FOX, and UPN) and closed captioning works perfectly. I know this is not the same as cable or satellite. I believe CC is the lowest priority for cable and satellite companies.

Are you trying to watch HDTV with CC directly from satellite or antenna? If your TV has a built-in HDTV tuner, have you tried connecting an antenna directly to your TV? How about connecting antenna to your HDTV Dish receiver? The receiver should have OTA input for local broadcasting. This should allow you to receive local OTA programs. If you get CC working using OTA antenna, then the CC problems are from cable or satellite companies. These two companies may not be getting direct feed from local stations.

When I first bought TV with HDTV tuner two and a half years ago, it took a while (about a year) for all six local stations to provide HDTV and CC. Maybe Los Angeles stations are not finished with HDTV Closed Captioning. I have contacted my local stations by e-mail and asked them to provide CC for HDTV and they were very helpful and eventually got CC up and running.

I built a Home Theater Personal Computer (HTPC) using Microsoft Media Center Edition (MCE) 2005. It has two HDTV tuners and I can record and playback HDTV programs with CC perfectly. MCE 2005 will only work with OTA antenna.

I am also an engineer (firmware) like yourself.

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-2006, 05:16 PM   #6
webexplorer
Registered User
 
webexplorer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 5,475
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to webexplorer
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenD
FWIW...I got Cox cable, and the cc worked great on the HiDef channels until a couple of months ago. CBS has become horrible, and the others are hit and miss. It seems to get worse during prime time (especially during Ghost Whisperer and Cold Case ). HBO is unaffected, for some reason, though the captions seem truncated sometimes.

When I had Dish we did not have HD, but the captioning was unusually spotty in most channels, anyway.
Sounds familiar. I am pretty sure that your cable wire is one that cause the problem. Look at the copper wire if it is thick which is good. You should try this one - bend up and down the cable wire a little bit behind your TV. That will solve your problem. Please let me know about it.
webexplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-11-2006, 02:47 PM   #7
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webexplorer
Sounds familiar. I am pretty sure that your cable wire is one that cause the problem. Look at the copper wire if it is thick which is good. You should try this one - bend up and down the cable wire a little bit behind your TV. That will solve your problem. Please let me know about it.
I think the DarrenD was referring to unstable Closed Captioning, not pictures. If the connection was bad, won't the picture be bad as well? I find it hard to believe a bad connection would still show good/stable pictures and bad/unstable Closed Caption.

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-11-2006, 03:21 PM   #8
webexplorer
Registered User
 
webexplorer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 5,475
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to webexplorer
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternagy
I think the DarrenD was referring to unstable Closed Captioning, not pictures. If the connection was bad, won't the picture be bad as well? I find it hard to believe a bad connection would still show good/stable pictures and bad/unstable Closed Caption.

Peter
Oh really. Hmm, then the closed caption card is definitely defective.
webexplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-17-2006, 09:48 PM   #9
DarrenD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternagy
I think the DarrenD was referring to unstable Closed Captioning, not pictures. If the connection was bad, won't the picture be bad as well? I find it hard to believe a bad connection would still show good/stable pictures and bad/unstable Closed Caption.

Peter
Right. The pictures are fine, it's just the captioning that gets unstable.

Webexplorer: Thanks. I'll try and swap the box out.
DarrenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2006, 04:16 PM   #10
webexplorer
Registered User
 
webexplorer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 5,475
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to webexplorer
I am thinking about buying a satellite dish for my home. I never bought one before. Some of you said that the Dish Network is good one. I live in eastern state. Which model dish is better? What size is better? Plastic or wired dish?

I do not have a flat LCD monitor, but just for now I use the regular tube TV.

Some of you know that in 2009 will be no longer run on all TV tubes so I have to prepare to buy a new one in a few years. If I buy a LCD TV set, will it able to hook up the same satellite dish?

I think that, in a few years later, we need to be careful because some dealers might lie to us if we are forced to buy a new dish which is not necessary. Who knows.
webexplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2006, 11:16 PM   #11
peternagy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 186
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
According to the schedule set by FCC, NTSC signals (analog) should cease to exist and be replaced by ATSC signals (digital). Which means analog TVs or TV receivers with only NTSC tuners will not work anymore.

This does not mean your analog TV will be completely obsoleted. But in order to continue using analog TV after the 2009 deadline, you will have to buy a ATSC tuner box and hook it up to your existing analog TV. The picture quality using analog TVs will not be as good as digital TVs.

When NTSC signals finally cease to exist, you are better off buying a new digital TV because by then the price of digital TVs should be pretty cheap. Picture quality from digital TVs are significantly better than analog TVs.

I think the US government is setting up a plan to help low income people for the transition from analog to digital TVs.

Peter
peternagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2006, 11:53 PM   #12
GraysonPeddie
Eye/Hear/Speech Impaired
 
GraysonPeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL 32304
Posts: 1,100
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webexplorer
I am thinking about buying a satellite dish for my home. I never bought one before. Some of you said that the Dish Network is good one. I live in eastern state. Which model dish is better? What size is better? Plastic or wired dish?

I do not have a flat LCD monitor, but just for now I use the regular tube TV.

Some of you know that in 2009 will be no longer run on all TV tubes so I have to prepare to buy a new one in a few years. If I buy a LCD TV set, will it able to hook up the same satellite dish?

I think that, in a few years later, we need to be careful because some dealers might lie to us if we are forced to buy a new dish which is not necessary. Who knows.
Unlike satellite, with HD Cable you can watch local broadcast channels (like ABC, NBC, CBS, and PBS*) in HD without an antenna. So you can see the prime-time and sports programs that you wanted to watch when you bought an HDTV set. But if you want to go with satellite, I recommend you pick up an additional set-top-box, mainly an OTA (over-the-air) HDTV receiver with an antenna.

Before you buy an OTA HDTV receiver, I recommend you buy either:

Winegard SharpShooter (indoor)
http://www.winegard.com/offair/sharpshooter.htm

Or:

Winegard SquareShooter (outdoor)
http://www.winegard.com/offair/squareshooter.htm

There may be other outdoor antennas but just to name a few...

For HDTV OTA receivers:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1117178265456
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Samsu...oductDetail.do

You should do some research on those HDTV OTA receivers and antennas...

I know my post aren't related to closed-caption thread but just wanted to point anyone out when they may decide whether to go with satellite or cable.

And one more thing, check http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/welcome.aspx for HDTV OTA channel listings before you buy the receiver and an antenna.
GraysonPeddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2006, 03:05 PM   #13
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i am having the same problem with my satellite provider. I've got Direct TV's high definition package. Some of the HD channels are captioned (ESPN) but I get no captioning whatsoever for the local HD channels. I've gotten a huge run-around by Direct TV these last few months. At first they asked me if the locals even captioned their HD programs. I called the stations and they all said yes. Finally Direct TV sent out a technician and they were stumped.
I thinks it's a problem with the satellite providers. Has anyone else had this problem with NO captioning on their local HD channels?? If so, has it been fixed?
I feel like I'm wasting money cuz there is alot of programming I miss without the captions.
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2006, 04:56 PM   #14
sequoias
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22,246
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
never mind...
sequoias is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2006, 05:14 PM   #15
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wow!! Both thoughtful and provoking!! Thanks for the help, you are truly a savior...I can only hope to attend the unveiling of the statue commemorating your aid to the world.
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2006, 11:26 PM   #16
DarrenD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokin Texan View Post
Wow!! Both thoughtful and provoking!! Thanks for the help, you are truly a savior...I can only hope to attend the unveiling of the statue commemorating your aid to the world.
No point in being an asshole about it. He probably posted something and realized that his response wasn't relevant. You can't entirely delete a response.
DarrenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2006, 11:48 PM   #17
sequoias
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 22,246
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
^^That's correct DarrenD, it was something not neccessary so I had to type that. Too bad I can't delete a post.
sequoias is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2006, 07:57 AM   #18
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry about that...I've been trying to get this thing solved for so long and to see that kind of response kinda set me off...
No harm, no foul.
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2006, 03:11 PM   #19
starrygaze
Registered User
 
starrygaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shinar (Sumer)
Posts: 2,332
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Are you new here? Tokin Texan Welcome to alldeaf and enjoy your stay!
starrygaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2006, 03:28 PM   #20
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well Just finished a 2 hour conversation with Direct TV's tech staff. After doing everything they asked with the receiver, they told me (again) that it would be fixed within 24-48 hours. We shall see.
My buddy has HD cable and his captions are running fine. One thing mentioned was that the frequency of the local channels may be too low to fully pick up the captions. Sounds like they may need to re-configure their boxes...
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2006, 08:05 AM   #21
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wow!! I'm shocked...nothing from Direct TV, still no captions on the HD channels. You would think that a large company like Direct TV would have their technology up to date. Are they ignoring the needs of the deaf population? Maybe we should stick to old school regular tv's. The deaf don't need HD. We should all be happy that our options are limited to cable or rabbit ears. We've got it too good already. Football scores should be read in the newspapers anyways. The deaf aren't interested in commentary, our only concern is a deaf prez at Gally.
Thank you Direct TV for showing us that deaf people too uppity to want to upgrade our lives.
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2006, 04:54 PM   #22
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SOME ACTION AT LAST!!!! Another marathon with Direct TV (1hr 45min) has resulted in some discounts...They're giving me credit on the HD package dating back from the initial installation, NO charge for the HD package until the problem is fixed, and 2 months of Showtime for free.
The Showtime is no big deal, but to get Direct TV to get the ball rolling on this problem is flippin sweet!!
If you have this problem (and it seems no deaf people have HD or Direct TV since there have been no replies) call up and complain. If enough credit is given out, maybe they'll really do something!!
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2006, 10:37 PM   #23
rhr
Registered User
 
rhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,210
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Some not work closed caption

If you got HDTV and only OTA (over the air) or CableTV's basic will work Closed Caption

BUT

you got Set-up box or DVR, HDTV will not work Closed Caption but set-up box or DVR from CableTV Company have in-built closed caption, you need setup under set-up box or DVR options not HDTV's options, they will work

P.S. Maybe CardCable slot to HDTV will work CC
__________________
ЯHR
rhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2006, 02:04 AM   #24
farewell65
LOL at Homer Simpson
 
farewell65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 4,087
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokin Texan View Post
SOME ACTION AT LAST!!!! Another marathon with Direct TV (1hr 45min) has resulted in some discounts...They're giving me credit on the HD package dating back from the initial installation, NO charge for the HD package until the problem is fixed, and 2 months of Showtime for free.
The Showtime is no big deal, but to get Direct TV to get the ball rolling on this problem is flippin sweet!!
If you have this problem (and it seems no deaf people have HD or Direct TV since there have been no replies) call up and complain. If enough credit is given out, maybe they'll really do something!!
DTV should gives all customer credit if they have any plm with DTV, like one time I ordered WWE Vengeance PPV and bad storm hit, DTV lost signal for almost 2 and 1/2 hrs, so they credit my billing...
__________________
UNDER CONSTRUCTION!


LETS GO PHILLIES!!!!!
farewell65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2006, 06:59 AM   #25
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The HD box from Direct TV has CC's ability. When it is hooked up to the TV it over-rides the TV's CC ability. You have to use the CC from the HD receiver. There is some kind of glitch in the HD receiver that doesn't pick the local HD channels. Direct TV says they're gonna try to fix it, but right now I don't care. If they're not charging me for it, and no one else is making a fuss about it then I can wait.
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-10-2006, 09:20 AM   #26
fyborg
Registered User
 
fyborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 642
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ArGGh. That sums up CCs on my HD tv when it goes on the HD channels. It's like they pull a vanishing act.
Of course, my 'rents say that CCs are my crutch, but not everyone on tele is easy to follow.
CCs will become mandatory in 2007 for ALL Tv shows. The new year can't get here fast enough.
__________________
Red Shirts are 88% more likely to be shot at. Stay away and stay alive!
fyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-13-2006, 08:14 AM   #27
Tokin Texan
Registered User
 
Tokin Texan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It seems with DirectTV the problem is in the equipment. I'm not sure what your using, but from my conversation with the affiliates all HD programming is captioned.
Tokin Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-14-2006, 04:44 PM   #28
fyborg
Registered User
 
fyborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 642
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My cable HD comes from some local cable company. Ugh.
__________________
Red Shirts are 88% more likely to be shot at. Stay away and stay alive!
fyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2006, 09:40 AM   #29
Shedepu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Closed Captions for direct tv

Hi Tokin Texan.

I too called Direct TV, because I just upgraded to HD and had no captions. At first they said its my TV, then I pushed them and said its in their boxes, I just didnt know how to turn it on. After arguing with me for a while, I was put on hold the then they walked me thru how to get it set up. Now its working.

Both the DVR and the HD receiver w/o DVR both work now. I had to hit MENU, SET UP, SETTINGS, DISPLAY, CAPTIONS, THEN TURN THEM ON. It even worked thru the HDMI cable on my one TV with that.

Good Luck!
Shedepu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2006, 06:55 PM   #30
LuciaDisturbed
Registered User
 
LuciaDisturbed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 7,733
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyborg View Post
ArGGh. That sums up CCs on my HD tv when it goes on the HD channels. It's like they pull a vanishing act.
Of course, my 'rents say that CCs are my crutch, but not everyone on tele is easy to follow.
CCs will become mandatory in 2007 for ALL Tv shows. The new year can't get here fast enough.
Finally!
__________________


"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." - Philosopher George Santayana.



Implanted left ear 10/11/06, activated 10/16/06 - Nucleus Freedom


My own CI experience, my views on CI and ASL and Deaf Culture and Society


DeviantArt
LuciaDisturbed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Join AllDeaf on Facebook!    Follow us on Twitter!

AllDeaf proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2002-2014, AllDeaf.com. All Rights Reserved.