re-visiting Naida V UP: a newbie

DeafDoc1

Premium Member
Reaction score
Hi, All,
I'm new to AllDeaf and was recently fit with Naida V UP aids. I had a mild/moderate hearing loss for years, but woke up suddenly about 5 mos ago with a severe/profound hearing loss. It has continued to progress and now I have 100-110 dB low freq, NR high. I previously used ReSound Azures but these weren't powerful enough. ReSound refunded my money and I tried the Naidas for a month. I can hear more environmental sounds, but have a lot difficulty understanding any speech. I was given the ZoomLink and FM receivers to try, but I'm not having much success.

With the Naidas, speech is quite distorted (the frequency transposition, I assume). Everyone sounds like they've inhaled helium. It seems like when I use the FM, there's an added layer of distortion. I've tried it hooked to the iPod and just as a mic for individuals. No luck. I had hoped to find a way to hear music again, but it just sounds like noise to me.

Has anyone else had this experience?

Thanks for your input,
Ellen

Ellen,

I've had severe-profound hearing loss (starting at 95 dB in the low frequencies and NR at 1000 Hz and above) for 10 years prior to receiving my cochlear implants. For 6 out of the 10 years I was able to use a Comtek FM system, but eventually, speech became more distorted and all I could use the FM system for was to hear environmental sounds. Neither my Oticon analog 380P's or Oticon digital DigiFocus II's allowed me to hear speech the way I wanted to, so I chose to get cochlear implants. Now I'm able to talk on the phone, enjoy music and converse easily with others. Given your dB loss, do you think you would ever consider getting a CI (cochlear implant)?

Thanks for the reply.