Manualism vs. Oralism Research

pagedancer

Reaction score
Hey there,
As some here know, I'm a graduate student studying Deaf Education and my research paper this semester is centered around different means of communication. I'm exploring Manualism vs. Oralism and was curious if anyone could offer some resources for either method. Also, I'd love to have people's opinions or tales of experiences if you are willing to share. No pressure at all. Any assistance offered is amazingly appreciated.

Thanks!
Jared

I was born HOH so I experienced the oral approach. Oral only does more damage then good in my view.

I think all deaf people should be exposed to sign language, and speech therapy if they want it but it shouldn't be done instead of signing and it shouldn't be done excessively.

Hey there,
As some here know, I'm a graduate student studying Deaf Education and my research paper this semester is centered around different means of communication. I'm exploring Manualism vs. Oralism and was curious if anyone could offer some resources for either method. Also, I'd love to have people's opinions or tales of experiences if you are willing to share. No pressure at all. Any assistance offered is amazingly appreciated.

Thanks!
Jared
http://www.alldeaf.com/introduce-yo...iews-questions-surveys-please-read-first.html

Please read the official moderator's instructions on how you must handle this situation.

I am all for Bi-Bi education. I see the value of good English usage. I want ASL used in class because I don't want the students to miss one word. If a student can speak, good. If a student can't speak, fine and don't make the student feel a failure just because he/she can't speak. I value education so I really hate oralism because it would cause students to miss or misunderstood something. I have been to an oral school and otherwise so I know it first-handed.