Perceptions of Netflix captions?

jchristian

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm working on a potential news story about perceptions of Netflix captions by people who are deaf or hard of hearing. I've been watching Netflix with subtitles lately, and I've been surprised by the prevalence of errors, weird formatting, nonsense characters and the like. Am I just noticing problems that exist in all captioning, or is Netflix particularly bad?

I'd love to hear your stories, either here or by email: jonathan dot a dot christian at gmail dot com.

JC

I have been subscribing to Netflix for 2 years. The problem mostly lies in the color of the captions. It's yellow and often times I can't read it when there is bright colored background. White is the color used the most on movies/tv and that makes it hard for me to read the yellow captions. I'm always hoping there's black/dark backgrounds.

It would be nice to have black outline against the yellow font or have us choose the color of the font. I heard that Netflix was planning to include that option in the future. I think no matter what the color is, there should be black outline over the colored font for easier reading and less chance of it matching with the background.

I can't say much about the errors because I am deaf and I can't vouch for that but there were times where I caught the errors. I didn't think it was that bad because I'm thinking it's better than nothing.

I've had my subscription for more thank six years. I get frustrated when it's not captioned but mainly I find that if you wait, it becomes captioned. I've rarely had issues with the subtitles and I haven't had issues with the color. It's just the wait until I get the captions on a film. Other than that, I've been mainly happy...but I do watch a lot of foreign films too.....

Laura