HoH girl/Deaf boy

TinyDancer

Reaction score
Hi! I'm a HoH 16 yr-old (35-45% loss). I have hearing aids and I'm almost finished with ASL 1 at my high school. I have been in normal classes all my life, but I have a 504 plan with priority seating so I can understand the teacher. I LOVE ASL and I've been going to the Silent Dinners in my town since I started learning. I even plan on applying to Gallaudet for college.
That being said, at the last silent dinner I met a Deaf guy who recently graduated from my high school (he's 19 now). We instantly clicked and despite a few language barriers we kept talking the nearly two hours I was there. We started chatting on Facebook and texting and occasionally video chatting, but we never get to hang out because my mom is really strict about the age thing.
And I think I really like him.
I want to ask my mom to just meet him, but she just doesn't really understand Deafness. We talked about it and she said something along the lines of "I'm sure you appeal more to him because you're cute and younger and hearing..." She also says that I'm "hearing impaired" no matter how many times I correct her.
I'm just hesitant to keep going with this guy because I don't know a ton about Deaf culture, and because my mom is so weird about it.
Help? :ty:

Moms can be like that! I was not allowed to single date until I was 16. It didn't come up, but I'm sure my mom would not have allowed me to date anyone who had already graduated from h.s. (although my first date was in fact with a senior of 18 when I was 16. Kissed him, too. Whooo-woooo!!)

Anyway - in your mom's eyes, this fellow is almost an adult, while you are still "her little girl." She's probably nervous about the age difference especially if this fellow is out on his own, as compared to h.s. boys still living with their parents. She doesn't want her little girl going to an adult man's apartment, for good reason.