Question for writers! (or readers)

Hotaru

Reaction score
Hello! I posted an introduction a loooong time back but I mostly lurk. I am a writer, artist, and ASL student! Also I read a lot.

I'm wondering how people (hearing or d/Deaf) approach ASL in fiction. I know there are some writers on this forum. If a character were telling a story with classifiers, for example, would you just write the story they're telling out in English? Would you attempt to give some sense of HOW they're telling it by describing their gestures or facial expressions?

Books I've read vary in their approach. Some describe signs so much it gets a little distracting. Some just have everything written out with the tag "said" or "signed"—but honestly sometimes it's easy to confuse who is signing and who is talking aloud in that case. Can you think of any books that you thought did a really good job incorporating ASL? I am curious as to what people think! I have read a lot of fiction that includes ASL, but since I am far from fluent, I can't really tell if they do a good job with it.

I don't know if it was a good job, but the book Mystic River has two peope that sign. You can tell when they are signing but I don't remeber whta the writer did. I read this book a long time ago.

I don't know if this will be of any help but there is a book called 'Whispers' by Chrissie Keighery that is about a teenage girl who became deaf and her journey to join the world of deaf culture. The book received good reviews and the author acknowledged the help from a deaf college. It may assist you to read it and see how the author tackled the subject. All best wishes to you for finding that right balance of using ASL in fiction!

I would like to be a better writer. Your question made me realize that not all of us think about the future. Twenty years ago I would not have believed two children would be deceased, or that I would be HoH and LV (Low Vision) and live alone.