ASL interpreting with HOH?

Gypsy.gal

Reaction score
Not sure where to put this but had a question. Please be patient, I've never used this service before (explains better below...maybe)

I'm HOH and am oral (for lack of better words, I guess). I struggle with hearing the other person and wondering if it's possible to have an interpreter to sign to me but answer back orally to the person they are interpreting? Or is that a no-go?

Does that even make sense?? :dunno:

who answers back orally? You or the person you're talking to through the interpreter?

Not sure where to put this but had a question. Please be patient, I've never used this service before (explains better below...maybe)

I'm HOH and am oral (for lack of better words, I guess). I struggle with hearing the other person and wondering if it's possible to have an interpreter to sign to me but answer back orally to the person they are interpreting? Or is that a no-go?

Does that even make sense?? :dunno:

Of course you are allowed to voice for yourself if you want.

Of course you are allowed to voice for yourself if you want.

Thanks Bottesini,

I've never used an interpreter but feeling it might just help me better communicate if I could do something like this.

Much appreciate the answers.

Have a great day!

I'm a retired interpreter. Yes, you can answer back orally for yourself. Just let the terp know your preferences before the conversation begins.

I use my husband as my terp. He signs what they say and I reply orally. I too am hoh but talk fine thanks to speak therapy. But I can't hear what people tell me all the time, ha or not.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using AllDeaf App mobile app

I use my husband as my terp. He signs what they say and I reply orally. I too am hoh but talk fine thanks to speak therapy. But I can't hear what people tell me all the time, ha or not.

You never use professional interpreters?