Which CI is the best?

joel21

Reaction score
I started losing my hearing 8 months ago. I was approved today for bilateral CI's. How do I know which CI brand to choose?
Im an active person with small children so I need something durable and somewhat water resistant. Im also a dentist so I need one that works fairly well in a noisy environment.
Im getting the right ear done in February and the left one done sometime after that.
Id like to hear the positives and negatives of your CI experiences with whichever CI you have.

Joel Reinhart
Tampa florida

The one that's advertised the most in the pages of Hearing Loss Magazine and Volta Voices of course!
Everyone's response to hearing devices is going to be very different....

Im guessing most people just follow their audiologists reccomendation.

you can either go with what your audie and CI surgeon recommend, or you can do some research and decide which one you think will be the best CI for you.

Take a look at this site: cochlear implant HELP then decide for yourself.

I went with AB for myself, but that was my personal decision. The important thing to know is all CI devices work well.

AB has a full-out waterproof processor called the Neptune, and it's an off the ear device. So if you do a lot of sports that includes water sports, you might want to consider the Neptune. Cochlear's N5 is water resistant, and they also just came up with the Aqua accessory in which it's like a water proof baggy for your N5 processor.

Your surgeon will tell you which one he prefers to put in you.

As a dentist, you probably also know that the brand your surgeon picks might include a free exotic vacation somewhere.......

I have Cochlear N5's. My surgeon chooses based on what kind of hearing loss each individual has.

Lol, No. Don't get the Neptune, my good friend has one and I feel so bad for him. It's such an annoying processor. Its a downgrade from the BTE.