Pat's (bbaseballboy) Surgery log

bbaseballboy123

Reaction score
Hey, as many of you guys know from my past posts, I am 16 years old, born profoundly deaf.
I was implanted at age 2 on my right side with Advanced Bionics (AB), a year later, that implant broke, and was re-implanted at age 3. I have been using that implant for 13-14 years with many different generations of processors including the Platinum Series, the BTE series and recently the Harmony. I was having issues with the implant a few weeks ago and was confirmed to be broken...again on 1/28/11.
I was also implanted on my right a year and half ago on my left with AB 90k series (the one that was recently recalled)

Anyway, now you know my background history with implants, I went to my surgeon (same doc who implanted my left a year ago) and audiologist today, and it is confirmed that I will be have surgery on Thursday the 10th next week to remove the AB implant and implant the cochlear, and will use the new processor, N5.
To be honest, my mother is more nervous about the surgery than I am lol. But the risk is very minimum, and will most likely to work, but really theres no risk for me because I can't even hear in the first place.

This is how it will go down, I will have surgery on the 10th in the morning, leave around noon for back home. The bandage will come off 5 days later, and then I have an appointment scheduled next month for a turn on and remaps for the N5 and the Harmony for my left.

However, the surgeon said I will/may have to get used to the new implant because obviously its much different than AB's implants. He recommended that I get a surgery sometime again this year to remove my left and implant a cochlear on my left because it would make it easier for my brain to adapt to the sounds the implants create. I think I will be doing this.
(for those who are wondering, my surgeon does not implant AB anymore after the recent recall)

Last edited:
Five implants?

damn right. you jelly? :P