Is it part of deaf discrimination?

Mabbit

Reaction score
Okay let me tell you a summary of what's going on.

I was applying for jobs. One company emailed me that they are interested in me and offered me for phone interview. We made an appointment for phone interview on Tuesday. Also Rachel (fake name) informed me that there's other person will do the phone interview work and her name is Jessica (fake name). Rachel isn't responsible for phone interview.

After phone interview, Jessica discovered that I'm deaf via videophone which I'm okay with that because I have a lot of good experiences for that position.

Jess informed me that she will email me that week Friday or next week to see if I will get a job. She also claimed that if those people who applied for that position (I'm not only one) will still get email to inform them (me) that we aren't qualified or find someone's better qualify for the position than us.

Right now, It's been over a week and 4 days since I hasn't heard from Jessica. It's overdue.

I don't have Jessica's email so I followed up to Rachel to let her know that I'm still interested in that position. Rachel responded me fast and thanks me for following up and will forward my email to Jessica.

FYI, Rachel didn't know I'm deaf.

Now I waited for good extra 3 days. Jessica didn't response me back at all.

It's already been two weeks which is already overdue to info me if I get a job or not.

so my question is.. is it deaf discrimination if I don't hear response from her even tho she claimed to tell me that she will info me if I GET or NOT getting that job position?

Welcome to the job market.

Happens to everyone, including hearing people.

Not everyone has the 'common sense' of contacting the interviewee after the interview on if they do get the job or not.