Special Education Teacher in SC

krparker

Reaction score
Hello!
I am a special education teacher in SC. I teach elementary students with a variety of disabilities and impairments. This coming year, I am expecting a student with hearing impairments (prior hearing, but due to accident, now hearing impaired) and thought by joining the group, that it would give me insights in hearing impairments.
I am also participating in a special education course on disabilities and would like to request your input on hearing impairments in adulthood. I would love to hear from you so I can include your feelings/attitudes/opinions in my research. If you could help with the following questions, I would greatly appreciate it!

What experiences/feelings did you have after becoming hearing impaired?
How do you communicate with others?
What props, if any, due you utilize when going places to help you communicate?
If possible, describe experiences/feelings/attitudes about first time going places (ex. shopping, restaurant) after becoming hearing impaired.
What positive experiences have you had in your education? What helped you the most?

Thanks so much in advance,
Karen Parker :angel:

Hi Karen, Welcome to AD!

Hi Karen,
Welcome to AD!
I live in Southern California( in Orange County).
i was in speical ed in Jr. High and High school.
I hated it!
Anyway, thats neet your getting a deaf student.
You total communication with the student, like reading, writing and most important sign language.
Enjoy your stay on AD!
Margie
Dir, of Communication Services
OCDAC

Thanks!

Thanks, Margie!
Yes, through this course I am taking, I have learned a lot about Total Communication. I'm really excited about this coming year. My daughter is also prone to hearing impairment due to her disabilites, so it will help me in the future!
Thanks again,
Karen :angel:

Karen, Welcome! I am VERY impressed by you posting here.
First of all, the correct terminlogy is deaf/hoh rather then hearing impaired.