Single Or Bilateral?? Ci

Fo'Shizzle

Reaction score
Should I Get Single Or Bilateral ?

Will Single Put Out Enough Sound?

Or Will Bilateral Be Better?

My Audiologist Said They At First Will Only Implant One Ear And The Other I Will Wear My Hearing Aids. I Thought It Would Be My Choice If I Get Bilateral?

I'm New At This Whole Cochlear Implant. I'm Getting One Really Soon.
Wondering How Long Does It Ususally Take Before You Get Your Cochlear Implant. Like After All The Test Done And Stuff?

Cassbugs said:
Should I Get Single Or Bilateral ?

Will Single Put Out Enough Sound?

Or Will Bilateral Be Better?

My Audiologist Said They At First Will Only Implant One Ear And The Other I Will Wear My Hearing Aids. I Thought It Would Be My Choice If I Get Bilateral?

I'm New At This Whole Cochlear Implant. I'm Getting One Really Soon.
Wondering How Long Does It Ususally Take Before You Get Your Cochlear Implant. Like After All The Test Done And Stuff?

Its different for everyone. Talk to your audiologist and you will find out what is best for you. Not everybody has two healthy implantable ears. Some medical plans only cover one CI and not both. Explore your options with your audie - they will be able to answer all your questions the best possible way.

I agree with Neecy. Best to talk to your audi first.

Most insurances (probably even Medicaid) won't cover bilateral CI's due to the high cost. So most people only get one.

I have been profoundly DEAF (meaning I was so deaf I could not even hear a plane taking off if it was coming over my head) for most of my life since I was 7 years old. I got my CI- just one-when I was 29 years old and I am amazed at how much I can hear with just one. Many other people report that one CI is plenty! For example now I can hear even a tiny sound like a kitchen egg-timer ticking away WHILE I AM IN ANOTHER ROOM. And this for someone who was deafer than a doorknob for more than 20 years! :)