relay oper

Chestnut

Reaction score
Heelllloooo I new, I wish to be a relay operator.

:welcome: to AD and enjoy your stay. There are relay operators in here and hope they will help you with what you need to know.

I want to know what if caller made threat call to hearing person. Do the relay oper find out who the caller phone number or report to police or remain confidentinally.

Welcome to AD. I am a relay operator myself. In fact, the only actively posting one here on AD.

Chestnut said:

:rofl: No you don't.

Well, pending the relay service you wish to work for. If you're looking for a job with your state's relay provider, go for it. Nothing but serving deaf users all day long, but don't think its going to be as rewarding as you expect. You will have your fill of unnappreciative users. If you're looking to work for an IP Relay company, don't expect to have many real calls. Prank and scam calls plague IP Relay services like you wouldn't believe.

Chestnut said:
I want to know what if caller made threat call to hearing person. Do the relay oper find out who the caller phone number or report to police or remain confidentinally.

Regardless of what happens, you are to remain detached and desensitized. Does not matter if its a threat to a hearing person, a bomb threat, a 911 call, a drug deal, or anything. It is my job to allow the call to happen and let it run its natural course. If you wrote down the deaf user's information, to turn in, and management found out, you would be fired in an instant, and possibly even face federal charges. FCC's regulations clearly state that relay operators are to act as "transparent phone wires," although this is very hard to do at times. Its because of the transparency and confidentiality clauses that scam calls are able to occur, because the operators are helpless to warn the victims.

Here is exactly what the FCC states regarding the RO's role:
(2) Confidentiality and conversation content.