Please give your advice.

polly1418

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to the form but have read several threads. After searching the web for answers I feel this is the best place to get some advice.
My son is almost 3 and has APD possible Auditory Neuropathy. Since we will not implant our son we do not feel an immediate need do the test.
Currently he understands no words and says no words and that is ok. He does not tantrum because he has found an effective way to tell me what he wants. Climbs the high chair he is hungry, puts my hands under his arms he wants up, leads me to the fridge he wants milk, so on so on. I blame myself for not starting ASL sooner but we are starting now. I think he knows 2 signs but not 100% sure yet.
Anyway I guess what I am asking is about how long will it take for him to start learning and using signs. He has had basically language for the first 2.5 years of his life just noise and music. He loves music. He loves for me to sign itsy bitsy spider and puts my hand together if I stop and only sing the song.
Please ask any questions about my boy I am more than happy to answer

At three, he can start learning right away. Fluency is you actual question? Depends on how much input he gets.

Don't you have early intervention services if he has APD?

I wasn't even aware you could get that diagnosis at that age, and I have a daughter who actually has it.

We do have early intervention and I will be taking him to therapy soon. We do not have a formal dx. In order to get a formal dx we need to do a brain stem test to rule out auditory neuropathy. If his brain stem is functional then it is APD. My son has zero auditory language comprehension. The concern the Audiologist and I have is that he may never acquire enough spoken language to ever take the tests.
We are hesitant to give him a brain stem test because it will not change our therapy outcome, teaching him ASL, we have no intentions of implanting our son.