Newbie here!

JanEllenBall

Reaction score
Hi everyone, my name is Jan and I am new to the alldeaf forum. I am 39, live in Georgia with my 77 year old Dad and my 4 goofy dogs and 1 equally goofy birdie. I am 75% deaf bilaterally, and wear BTE's which help a tiny bit (only if in a quiet place...if I am in a noisy place, they just make it worse). I suffer from Meniere's Disease, which is responsible, in part, for my deafness.

I am learning Signed English in a class being taught at my Church, and hope to learn ASL as well, though none of my friends or family sign. :-( Sure wish they did, as my lipreading isn't the greatest and I am getting to where it's harder and harder to understand people....especially when they mutter and turn away from me.

I am also training one of my dogs, Max (a Siberian Husky/Golden Retriever mix) to be my "hearing dog". He has a service dog vest, and goes with me when I go out at night because his hearing is WONDERFUL...hehe...I have a problem distinguishing from which direction sounds are coming, so someone could come up behind me and I wouldn't know...scary at night! Max is 90 pounds...(big) so people don't tend to bother me. LOL! (they don't have to know he doesn't really bite! hahaha!) He has learned to let me know when the doorbelll rings by coming and placing his paw in my lap. I am training him for the telephone as well.

I work from home as a Graphic Designer. You can see my website in my profile.

I look forward to getting to know you all!

Thanks, folks! :) I am already really enjoying it...so much so that I am now behind in my work so I must get back to the grind here...hehehe...will check in later though.

Nice intro and :wave: Jan enjoy ur stay and nice to meet u!

Welcome to alldeaf.com, Jan!

I used to live in Acworth (Bartow County) just off Third Army Road about 100-ft from Cobb County line.