New RID test--is it passable???

Wirelessly posted

aslrocks58 said:
I have just gotten my results back from my 3rd attempt at the NIC. This is now the 8th certification test i have taken and failed. I have completed 6 different NIC prep workshops with a variety of presenters, Shonnuf's included. I found them all helpful in my preparations. Unfortunately none of them have gotten me any closer to a passing mark on the NIC test. There is apparently something about me that raters are not responding favorably too. I have an interpreting degree, 14 years interpreting experience, favorable feedback when working or just interacting with Deaf people, the encouragement of interpreting colleagues, mentors, etc. I just don't do well with subjective tests and that is really all the NIC is rating you on...How well do you take tests? My most recent result says that my skills haven't improved at all since I first began this journey straight out of terp school. I don't even know how to prepare since I felt the best about my performance this time than ever before and yet my score was the lowest possible. If i stood with my back to the camera and did nothing, i would have had the same score. So now its time to look to other career possibilities because the certification isn't going to happen through RID no matter how many times I take it. But i'm sure they'll be happy to continue collecting the fee. My head has been sufficiently bloodied from this particular brick wall. I surrender!

You took the words right out of my mouth. I don't have BA in interpreting. I know, that interpreting and sign language will always be with me. I will eventually, go back to testing NIC. Don't let any rater or test bring you down personally as an interpreter. I am always open for feedback and development. We can put our minds together and study hard:)