Losing 95% of hearing...

iamcute

Reaction score
how bad is losing 95% hearing?? i have a friend who lost his hearing at the age of two, and lost 95%.. but he considers himself as hoh. also, he speaks very well, that people almost overlook the fact that he is deaf, and doesn't provide him what he needs at work. he even talks on the phone, although he has a really hard time. im asking you guys (hope it's not too stupid of a question), b/c i just want to hear from everyone else... how bad is it? also, is there such a term "deafer" or any other words that compare themselves with other deaf people? do deaf people compare themselves as in, "he is deafer than i am"? and if that is so, how is that measured? hearing percentage or capabilities?

im still learning... so if i ask stupid questions... feel free to say harsh things. or correct me if i am wrong. i'd understand. i don't mean to offend anyone. i sorry.

I agree, you are suppost to measure losses in decibels. There is a way of saying "you are deafer than me", they have mild, moderate, severe, profound, etc...

Percentages are useless... Any audiologist who gives degree of deafness in percentages is an idiot. It's a lot easier to understand deafness with the degrees of severity... Mild is 25 - 35 dB. Moderate is 35 - 45 dB. Moderately severe is 45 - 60 dB. Severe is 65 - 80 dB. Profound is above 80 dB.

In terms of comparing the degree of one's deafness to that of another, I'm not the only person I know who has used the terms 'more deaf' and 'less deaf' to compare relative severity of deafness.