Introducing myself.

SignoftimeASL

Reaction score
Hello!! My name is Kimberly. Sign Language and the deaf have always facinated me. I met my husband a year ago and fell in love with him. I knew no sign language other than part of the alphabet. Even though I did not understand sign language I seemed to understand what he was saying to me. One day I got tired of writting everything so I started learning ASL. If I did not know the word I would spell it and he would show me the sign for it. It became a passion for me and i wanted to learn more. I invested in books and started studying more with the help of my husband ,friend, and other deaf people. Everyone is shocked how much I have learned in a year and I am starting to understand more and more. I am a member of the Toledo Deaf Club and I never saw a group of people that were more understanding, accepting, and patient as the deaf people are. I have so many deaf friends now and they are no different than anyone else. I will say this..just because a person is deaf does not make them any less of a person or mean that they are dumb. They just cannot hear. I do not understand why some people can be so cruel as one friend said to me "I think the deaf should stay with the deaf". I totally disagree with that because like any other human being the deaf can be loved, give love , and feel love. In all honesty I think I like the deaf culture better than my hearing culture. Seriously I think a lot can be learned from the deaf. I love my husband and I would not trade him for anything in the world. People should learn to look at others for what they are on the inside not for what is on the outside because all of us have flaws though maybe some of them are more noticeable than others. Always remember this though, no matter what in Gods eyes we are all complete. :angel:

Hi Kim,

Welcome to AD and enjoy your stay here ;)

Hello &
14.gif