i am new

deafJar

Reaction score
hi i am new, i was diagnosed with deafness in early childhood and i wear a hearing aid for my left ear. i got my first hearing aid in 10th grade.

i also have adhd that is attention deficit hyperactivity disorder,mild mental retardation,communication disorder,dyspraxia.

i am 20 years old.
i graduated from high school may 28th,2004.
i am been stuudying and learning asl since 10th grade and i want to learn asl so my communication skills can get better.

Hello DeafJar,

Welcome to Alldeaf and enjoy your stay here ;)

i got my first hearing aid in 10th grade.

i also have adhd that is attention deficit hyperactivity disorder,mild mental retardation,communication disorder,dyspraxia.
You might not have ADHD or MR per se.....you say you got your first hearing aid in 10th grade....that's wicked late..... I know off the top of my head that ADD-like behavoir is wicked common in oral dhh kids.....and until recently,(like back in the '70's) a LOT of hoh kids were misdx as being MR.

this was some stuff i wrote in high school.

I am 18 and In 11th grade

lazy suck (when i was a baby)

colic till age 3

Gross composite score: Age Equivalency = 3.0 yrs. (At age 6)

start to talk at 3 years old and could understand most of what i said at age 5

Have eye-hand coordination

poor coordination

poor motor skills

have trouble processing things

Adhd (mild case)

Stutter alot

communication disorder

motor skills: 7 years 11 months (at age 11yrs. 7 months)

Social and Emotional behavior: between 4 and 5 year level ( At the age of 11 yrs. 7 months)

Adaptive Skills: Mild range - avg. age 6 yr. 7 months (at the age of 11 yrs. 7 months)

Communication skills: 8 yr. 5 mo. level (at the age of 11 yrs. 7 months)

Mild hearing loss

Nearsightedness

Mildly mentally handicap

Anxiety attacks

panic attacks

difficulty with receptive and expressive language skills

MVPT: 27/36
_____
AE 7 yr. 11mo.

Tvms: AE 5 yr. 11mo.
____

Bruininks
________