HI, from Texas

Pennysmom

Reaction score
Hi, my name is PJ. I am an ASL student from Texas. I am looking to chat meet a deaf person that can help me with a paper I need to write for class. It is for my Deaf Culture class. Can anyone help me? I have the following questions:

1. When did you become deaf?

2. How did your parents react to your deafness?

3. Is there a history of deafness in the family?

4. What type of schools did you attend growing up?

5. When did you learn ASL?

6. Do you belong to a deaf organization or club?

7. What is your opinion of cochlear implants?

I hope someone responds. Thanks! :

Or for privacy you can e mail me at pennygirlracing@yahoo.com

I was born deaf.

Like most parents, they were shocked and worried about my future. But I'm glad that they realized the importance of giving me an education. They learned sign language and communicate with me. They love me dearly and always had been by my side and will be.

Not really. There's a possibility that on my mother's side that there was some form of waardenburg's syndrome which I have.

From kindergarten to grade 6, I attended a public school with a deaf program. Total communication, with SEE, ASL involved. Then I entered a provincial school for the deaf, it was a residential school but I was a day student.

Then I recently graduated from a college in May/June. It wasn't a college for the deaf.

I've seen ASL my whole life, but I was taken into learning the ASL when I entered the fourth grade.

Not really, but I am active in some deaf forums if that count.

I believe that it is up to the parents on if they want to implant the child or not. But deaf adults also are entitled to their own decisions on getting implanted or not.

Last edited:
Welcome to AllDeaf! To answer your questions...
Pennysmom said:
I became deaf around the age of one.
Pennysmom said: