Feedback from hearing aids

Victorias mom

Reaction score
Today my daughter got her hearing aids. She is only 4 months so she does not hold her head up, so sitting in her seat or swing you hear feedback when her head gets too close to the seat. Also when she is on my shoulder I notice it. How annoying is that going to be for her?? I am not sure if she even hears it. That noise can't really hurt her right? She has severe to profound hearing loss, so we don't know yet what she is hearing. Like I said its the first day and we have to get used to the hearing aids. I just don't want that noise to bother her, but I guess there is nothing I can do until she holds up her head. If anyone has any advice, please let me know.

Thanks

WOW, 4 months.
I have to admit I have no experience with that age. My daughter got HA's around 1 year of age.
It's difficult to see if the child benefits from it, especially in the beginning.

One of the main reasons (we were told) is to keep activating the auditory nerve. But I also had my questions about this. Is sound is not passed to the nerve; how is it going to help. But still, even some sound might help.

I don't think she is bothered by it - looking at my daughter. She wore them without problems during the day at the childcare, but removed it as soon as she got in the car. Or at home.
As if the location (with other children with HA's and CI) was decisive. Not discomfort.

Keep it on and meanwhile take a good look around for other possibilities.
If she benifits from HA's, excellent. If not, then you know about other options.
I have allways felt that the time my daughter spent with HA's was for good use.

Hope you can do something with the info.

Cloggy