do interpreters care about you?

snoflkz

Reaction score
I'm just curious, since I am studying to be an interpreter, how Deaf people feel about interpreters? Tell me everything you think, from how you think they feel about you, to what you feel about them, how much you think they make, are they in it just for the money, etc. Be detailed!! I'm using this information for a school project!! Plus, it will help me get a feel for how to act and what to do when I'm an interpreter sometime in the future!!

Thanks!!

PS - you can see my other posts for survey questions if you would like to fill those out!

I have had some really great interpreters that I am still friends with now. I suppose it all depends on the person...if he or she is a good person, then I have no objections on being friends!

all intercrepters have different personalities and it's very important that an intercrepter and a deaf student must get along together, otherwise if they don't then she may not help the deaf student as much as he/she should be...

there are some good intercrepters, some so-so intercrepters, and even some HORRIBLE intercrepters that should definetly be fired, etc... because some are just too lazy and don't go to school often and don't really give advices, more explained details, and alittle help when a studen is having trouble with something in class.

you see, an intercrepter should do MUCH more than just intercrept...an intercrepter should be your friend too, not an enemy or anything like that.

Yes, I do believe there's many who care about the people they work for. I like the ones I have now, and they do a good job. They can be nice to socialize with.