Disability opinions

goalie4hawks

Reaction score
I am an ASL student in HS and I want a bunch of Opinions. My topic for writing my midterm paper is "Are deaf people disabled." I want to get opinions on both side of the fence. Your imput is greatly apreciated. Thanx.

It depends on which deaf individual you ask. Some deaf like to think of themself as a poor disabled sad creature. Thinking the world owes them! These are those deaf who you will find handing out the "ABC sign cards" asking for donations. However, other deaf like to take the opportunity of being deaf as a SIGN to say...I CAN.. and I WILL! These deaf individuals are not disabled. But very much abled and willing! We are proud and function fully in the ABLE range.

My topic for writing my midterm paper is "Are deaf people disabled." I want to get opinions on both side of the fence. Your imput is greatly apreciated.
Well why should disabilty be thought of as "bad"? Disabilty is just a nautral part of the human condition. I AM disabled, but it's just a part of me, the way my blue eyes are or my passion for folk music is.
People can adapt to disabilty and live rich full lives just as good and equal to those without disabilties! Sure, people with disabilties are "different" but they don't face anything different then do other minorities! Disabilty isn't a horrible limiting condition.....it's people's attitudes which are limiting!

I think that word is something that's abused. I've seen deaf people taking advantage of that word and getting themselves handicapped parking passes for their cars because of their so-called "disabled" hearing. :roll:

"Deafness is the biggest problem for me because I have very limited speech. It is very difficult for me to communicate with hearing people because they don't have time to learn how to use sign language". this is my quote from my state essay. Hope that it helps. Good luck!