Deafness in Developing Countries

rajan

Reaction score
Hi, My name is Rajan and im a first year medical student. I am about to start a module on deafness in developing countries and was wandering if anyone had any views, opinions or information that may be useful. Please dont hesistate. Thanks

Oh this is a subject I love! Developing countries, anyway. I haven't done much academic research in the way of deaf people in developing countries aside from a research paper I wrote on the socioeconomic status of deaf people a few years back. My familiarity with development economics lies in inequality and its relationship with economic growth, but bear in mind development economics is not my primary field.

If you're interested, there is a wonderful scholarly paper published just last year on whether or not inequality in a society impacts economic growth.

The paper is titled "Inequality and Growth: A Semiparametric Investigation" and was written by Dustin Chambers of Salisbury University in January 2005. I would give you the full citation, but I cannot find the paper on scholar.google.com and my notes on the paper are archived away somewhere. You should be able to find it by asking the local university librarian. That is, of course, if you're interested in the paper. ;)

I wonder if you can tie this somehow to deaf people. You might also benefit a bit more from the paper if you look up wikipedia's page on the Gini Coefficient: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gini_coefficient

If you have any questions, let me know and I'll do my best to answer.

I remember reading some stuff about a year or so ago about a new signed language which is spontaneously evolving right now in Nicaragua. I’ll see if I can dig up some cites. I think somebody even started a thread about it here.

Deafness in sub-Saharan Africa

Abstract:

Deafness in sub-Saharan Africa.

Kiyaga NB, Moores DF.

Gallaudet University, Washington, DC, USA.