Deaf dorm at CSUN (hearing)

signer16

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I am a 4th semester ASL student at a community college. I am a senior in high school, but I take classes at the community college. (free for hs students in California, yay!) I truly have a passion for ASL, and I am dedicating myself to learning as much as possible. I go to deaf events, I am learning as much as I can about deaf culture, and I practicing signing A LOT in my free time.
Anyway, I have been accepted to CSUN as a deaf studies major for the fall semester 2005. I would like to apply to live in the deaf dorms, (deaf studies majors are allowed). What do you all suggest? Thanks for any opinions or offers you have,

Kelsey

signer16 said:
Hi everyone!
I am a 4th semester ASL student at a community college. I am a senior in high school, but I take classes at the community college. (free for hs students in California, yay!) I truly have a passion for ASL, and I am dedicating myself to learning as much as possible. I go to deaf events, I am learning as much as I can about deaf culture, and I practicing signing A LOT in my free time.
Anyway, I have been accepted to CSUN as a deaf studies major for the fall semester 2005. I would like to apply to live in the deaf dorms, (deaf studies majors are allowed). What do you all suggest? Thanks for any opinions or offers you have,

Kelsey

That is awesome!! Im CSUN alumni and lived in dorms there for 4 years. But the last time I was at CSUN was 1993 so I am sure things have changed so cant give you any recommendations but do wish you best of luck for your new journey at CSUN :)

You must be going to Pierce right now, right? I can’t think of any other community college around here that offers 4 semesters of ASL.

Why you wanna live in a deaf dorm and to be
up all in a deaf person's face???

Deaf dorm should be for the deaf people, because
they have accessories for the deaf people to use,
such as flashers, and stuff.

Last time, my hearing roommates harassed me