ASL taught as a foreign language credit?

Gary3

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Gary and I am a student at Miami University. In my Sociocultural Studies class we chose to look into whether or not American Sign Language should be taught as a foreign language credit for our discourse. While we have found many articles on this matter, I was hoping to get some input from the deaf community. Should ASL be considered a foreign language? Should it be taught in school? If so, as an English credit or a foreign language credit?

I would appreciate any input you would be willing to share - from both sides. Also, if you know of any resources that may be helpful, I would appreciate that info as well.

Take care and have a great day!

Yes it does credit for foreign language.... my old high school starts in 1990's.... many students want to learn the signs like others learn to speak german or french... spain language. I believe it is worth to take it as credit. Good luck!

I actually took ASL in my high school as well as Spanish and they were equally difficult and complex. American Sign Language is definitely a foreign language and should be taught as such because it has its own syntax and sentence structure and many other elements that languages have. I absolutely loved taking ASL and learning about Deaf Culture and Deaf people. It's such a rich world that people in general tend to overlook.

yes, I agree that hearing people should learn ASL as a foreign language so that they can talk to deaf people faster. I am deaf myself, and I learned Signed Exact English at the age of 2. Then I started learning ASL through the interpreters although they combined both ASL/PSE for deaf people who are in hearing world. I am going to learn ASL grammar and structures by myself during the summer so I can get used to communicating faster in the deaf world.