Advice

thefishy42

Reaction score
Hi there, I am looking for some advice.

I am a teacher (elementary and middle school right now, but mostly elementary). I taught in bilingual schools (spanish-english) and now I´m a Spanish teacher. I live in Hanover-Lebanon-White River Jct area of VT-NH. My long term dream is to go to Gally for gradschool in bilingual ed. In the past they´ve told me I need to work with Deaf students in some capacity before hand. Does anyone know of anywhere nearby that that would be possible? Sadly Austene (spelling?) is a bit too far away.

Also, I have 3 students this year who are hh. They all have hearing aides and FM microphones. But I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice about working with them. Have any of you taken Spanish and found certain things the teacher did that really helped or hurt you? So far the students seem to right along with the others, which is no real surprise, but I just wanted to see if anyone had advice for specifically for anything I might not realize.

Thanks to anyone who can offer help

(Also, if there´s a way to respond via a personal message rather than a thread post, that´s fine, I don´t know how to do that yet)

-Fishy (Bob)

Hi Bob! I have "family" that live in Hartland. (basicly my second family. My second mom actually signs fluently )
Maybe you should contact Austine and ask if there's any regional dhh programs that are closer to you. I know of the Deaf program in Manchester NH. The only other option I can think of is the Gov Baxter Deaf School in Maine. It is kind of odd.....you would think that there'd be more options out there.
As for your HH students.......one thing. None of those listening quizzes with 'professional speakers" I took french in high school, and we had to take the listening quizzes....even the hearing kids couldn't undy what the speaker was saying.
You could contact Clarke School for the Deaf. They have a publication on taking a second languange when you're dhh.