![]() |
|
|||||
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The North Shore Area
Posts: 1,677
|
Social Security Disability
I checked with a deaf friend who has been helped by Allsup.
You might want to check out their website. Allsup 1-800-560-1410 Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) | Medicare or Perhaps your local area SSA office could assist you with the paperwork. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members. Register your free account today and become a member on AllDeaf.com |
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Stuck in New York!
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,165
|
I checked who own this domain name, it wasn't even from SSA at all, it was from a company who deals with Networking. Always check WHOIS before clicking them to check if they are legit or not. That is how I know,
Here is result Registrant: Allsup inc. ATTN: ALLSUP.COM c/o Network Solutions P.O. Box 447 Herndon, VA. 20172-0447 Domain Name: ALLSUP.COM Administrative Contact, Technical Contact: Allsup inc. ATTN: ALLSUP.COM c/o Network Solutions P.O. Box 447 Herndon, VA 20172-0447 570-708-8780 Record expires on 20-Jan-2014. Record created on 20-Jan-2000. Database last updated on 13-Oct-2009 14:26:29 EDT. Domain servers in listed order: NS1.DNSHOSTING.COM NS2.DNSHOSTING.COM NS3.DNSHOSTING.COM NS4.DNSHOSTING.COM NS5.DNSHOSTING.COM =============================== Most of the scammers will do anything to hide their true Identity. Nothing about Social Security Admin? Thats scary when releasing information to stranger or getting information from a stranger. Even worse, this could be proxy server used their system... has it happened? you BET! Most scammers love Proxy servers. Be extremely careful with Internet, it is stilll wild wild web!
__________________
Please do not follow unless your driving REAL 4x4 with LOW! FUN is standard...PAVEMENT is optional.... ![]() ![]() ![]() Plus Jeep Wrangler owner too. ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Stuck in New York!
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,165
|
For those who is interesting in protecting themselves from various threats on Internet. Don't you know that you can use right button on the mouse or trackball like mine and click Properties, it will tell you the address, copy N paste on whois look up. You can use google to find whois.
Always check the padlock if you see unlocked padlock that means the Internet connection is not safe or unsecured. Never do identity information over unsecured network.... This is about Internet safety and security.
__________________
Please do not follow unless your driving REAL 4x4 with LOW! FUN is standard...PAVEMENT is optional.... ![]() ![]() ![]() Plus Jeep Wrangler owner too. ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
|
Allsup
diehardbiker: Allsup handles SSA claims. They are not a networking company. It looks kihe it though from the WHOIS description.
The web site - Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) | Medicare - spells out their business. You are right to be apprehensive - you can never be too careful on the web. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The North Shore Area
Posts: 1,677
|
Wow... When I read your messages. I immediately emailed and told my friend not to contact the Allsup. He said he didn't contact them. *phew!* Oh, thank goodness!!!
Yes, you are right that we have to be careful on the web. Thanks for your advice, Diehardbiker (and TheRedMenace)!!! to AllDeaf forum, TheRedMenace!!!! ![]() It's better safe than sorry... |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) | |
|
Stuck in New York!
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,165
|
Yes, there are times where you get website or E mail with a hyperlink which looks legitimate website only to be scammed or phished.
Other day, I got E mail from unknown source, with a hyperlink that perfectly resemble Citibank, claimed to be headquarter in NYC which is true HOWEVER when I right click on that link, it shows what? www.citibankmoney.com so I run whois, guess where it goes? A small town in CHINA!,they needed your SSN, full name, full address to restore their database that they claimed crashed otherwise I would lost all funds (Yeah right) Wow, they did good job trying to fool me but they didn't.Quote:
__________________
Please do not follow unless your driving REAL 4x4 with LOW! FUN is standard...PAVEMENT is optional.... ![]() ![]() ![]() Plus Jeep Wrangler owner too. ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32,396
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 792
|
I think you guys are misinformed here. Doing a domain lookup ONLY tells you where is the servers located and who handles the network. For smaller companies they will hire outside services for web and network services. The BEST place to check is better business bureau. Allsup is listed and they are accredited with BBB. It even lists the website domain.
here is copy and paste: Business Contact and Profile Name: Allsup Inc Phone: (618) 234-8434 Fax: (618) 236-5778 Address: 300 Allsup Pl Belleville, IL 62223-8625 Google Map Website: www.allsupinc.com www.allsup.com Original Business Start Date: January 1985 Principal: Dan Allsup, Director of Communication Customer Contact: Dan Allsup, Director of Communication - (618) 234-8434 Type of Business: Professional Services (General), Health & Medical (General) BBB Accreditation: This organization is a BBB Accredited business. Diehardbiker- next time check more thoroughly before crying scam. The info you checked is NOT good enough. IF you checked the ip address of allsup, you will see the www.allsup.com ip address is 68.188.120.54 and supplied by charter. the host is Network Solutions and they provide the website work, etc for allsup. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|